A resolution…really?


Fireworks by Cassandra Bellinger

So, 2012 is finally over and the New Year has begun.  The fireworks have gone off, the parties are over and the decorations are packed away.  For many people, it is now time for New Year’s resolutions; New goals to accomplish (one or two), bad habits to break (none I’ll admit), extraneous pounds to lose (who doesn’t).  But statistics show that many people will never accomplish them, giving up before Spring pops its head over the horizon.  I have never really been one to make resolutions, probably for that very reason.

You see, I am a world-class procrastinator.  My brain and my willpower don’t often operate in the same sphere, much less on the same page.

This year, however, I find myself in the unusual position of wanting to make a resolution.  I have several things I would like to accomplish this year.  Some of them are things I have put off for far too long.  But one of them stands out from the rest, maybe because I have had it for so long.

It has always been my dream to be a published author.  But in order to do that, I have to actually finish one.  Not just reach the end of the story but edit it…and let someone else read it.  That’ll be a hard one.  Other than my sister and my husband, I’ve never allowed anyone else to read my work.  Sad thing to admit when I want to put it out there for thousands of strangers to pull apart and criticize but there it is.

That of course, leads me to my first goal/resolution for the year.  Write at least one blog post per week for the entire year.  That’s 52 times I have to try and come up with something interesting to say.  Well, interesting might be a stretch.  Perhaps I should just say 52 times to express what’s on my mind, interesting or not.  I think this goal will accomplish two things in the end.  First, it will force me to get in the habit of writing regularly, rather than just when my characters are screaming too loudly for me to sleep.  Second, it will thicken my skin as I lay my thoughts and ideas out for the world to see.

My second goal is the more obvious one, and the most important.  To not just finish a novel, but to edit it to the point that it is ready to be consumed/submitted.  To put it out there for the world to see, or for the agents and publishers to reject it.  Either way, I will finish it and submit it.

So there it is.  I have made a New Year’s resolution.  Well, two actually.  I have written them down.  I have programmed my phone so I will get annoying reminders every other day.  I am on my way.

Welcome, 2013.  I hope you will be a productive year.

This entry was posted in My Writing Journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A resolution…really?

  1. Katie says:

    I have a very similar resolution, for very similar reasons, and I understand about the sister/husband thing. Therefore…good luck to us both!

  2. Attila Ovari says:

    Great blog…. I look forward to hearing about your successes with blogging….. Wishing you a great 2013

Leave a Reply

