To meme, or not to meme?


To meme, or not to meme.  That is the question.

 

As anyone who spends any amount of time of Facebook can tell you, internet memes have become one of the most common ways for people to express their opinions.  Do you want to comment on social matters?  Need to spread an idea to a large number of people?  Want to share a political or religious belief?  Or maybe just a laugh?  There’s a meme for that.  Trust me, there’s one for everything.

 

Richard Dawkins

 

Now, to be honest, I didn’t even know these things had their own special name until recently.  While scrolling through Facebook, I happened upon a friend’s comment about the volume of memes appearing on his page.  It took me a minute, but I finally realized he was talking about all the annoying pictures with the snarky comments that are appearing with increasing regularity.  Some are so popular I’ve seen them multiple times.  They’re like a virus, multiplying with frightening speed and efficiency.

 

Facebook is not the only social networking site where internet memes are popular.  Twitter, Tumblr, Pinterest and Google+ are all places where memes take up a lot of space. Internet memes can take many different forms, making them easy to share no matter what your favorite social network is.  Photos, links, videos and hashtags are all different versions of memes used on these sites.

 

Vampire Cat will be back shortly

 

Obviously I’m all for people getting their opinions and ideas out there.  I wouldn’t be on WordPress if I didn’t.  And while I don’t agree with everyone else’s opinions, I don’t mind seeing them either.  What I do mind is that it now seems impossible for people to express themselves without the use of a meme.  Don’t get me wrong.  Some memes are artistic, creative and downright funny.  But what ever happened to just writing what you feel?  It seems like people have lost the ability to express themselves without recycling the art and ideas of others.

 

Internet memes also seem to be addictive.  Just like beer potato chips, you can never have just one.  I scrolled through my Facebook page the other day and counted 67 memes, 34 of them from just one person.  It was like a meme bomb had exploded.  If I’m going to waste time in an attempt to put off writing, check up on my friends, I’d at least like to see something they took the time and effort to write themselves.

All I can do is remove the worst offenders from my feed and hope the rest still remember how to type that I’m interested in hearing about them once in a while, not ninja cats and penis-shaped stacks of eggshells.

Ok, ninja cat was cool, but you get what I mean.

 

This entry was posted in Spouting Off and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to To meme, or not to meme?

  1. It took me forever to figure out what a meme was… even after looking up the definition I was still confused… I must be getting old. I did eventually figure it out.. but your post would have helped me out back then!

  2. rastelly says:

    Memes can be annoying, but I have always found them interesting – some of them are so random
    and meaningless I just have to wonder what people see in them –

    Once enough people know about something – no matter what it is – it somehow becomes interesting – I guess that is just how our minds work.

    Memes are older then the internet – but the photo memes I like to call “Quick Memes” have
    been growing in popularity – did you ever see the sayter square? or the three hares? The
    three hares are three rabbits with their ears forming a triangle – it has been incorporated
    into churches and homes and other buildings for hundreds of years! There are people who
    study memes that think that images like the three hares are ancient memes!

    • I’ve seen the three hares before but never knew the history. I had to look that up after you mentioned it. That was pretty cool. Like you, I find some of them very interesting. It just gets a little overwhelming when that’s all you see day after day, especially when they’re random.

Leave a Reply

