My Mother’s Day Reflections


Flower

Another Mother’s Day has come and gone.  Dinner has been eaten, the cards have been read, and the phone calls have been made.  As the evening winds down and things become silent, I sit here thinking of all the years and memories I have shared with my children.  They have been filled with laughter and tears, triumphs and mistakes.  I like to remind my children that they did not come with an instruction book, much to my disappointment, and on-the-job training is hazardous, at best.  I have made more mistakes and altered my parenting techniques more times than I care to count.  All I can do is hope that the good times, the laughter and the lessons outweigh all the bad.  Fortunately, children are very forgiving of their idiot parents.

As I get older, my thoughts increasingly turn toward what lessons I have taught them, and what I have failed to pass on.  I know I cannot pass on all the things I have learned throughout my own life, but there are some things that are too important not to share.

Lessons I most want my children to learn

Hold on to your dreams – it is always good to have something to strive for.  Be honest, not just with others but with yourself.  Always strive to do your best.  It’s not worth doing if you’re not going to give it everything you have.  There is no such thing as failure, only another opportunity to try again.  Be yourself – no one else can fill your shoes and you can’t fill theirs.  Always make time for your family and for yourself.  Never be afraid to try new things.  Every day is a chance to learn something new.  Don’t belittle yourself or others; We all need every ounce of strength we have to get through this life.  When you feel like judging someone, don’t.  You don’t know what they have been through to get where they are.  No one is perfect.  Be kind to others.  You never know when your kindness may be the one thing that gets them through another day.  Be willing to admit when you’re wrong.  Never pass up a chance to tell someone what they mean to you;  You never know when it will be your last one.  Never give up.  Love.  Live.

What is the most important lesson you would want to pass on to your children?

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Mother’s Day Reflections

  1. Those are great lessons! This was a great post!

  2. iHijinx says:

    So lovely. Thank you.
    I try to instil autonomy and freedom of choice in my children. Beautiful minds, forever free.

Leave a Reply

