Confessions of a Word Junkie


Addictions

Addictions come in many forms. Food, alcohol, drugs and sex are all common addictions we hear about frequently. They are so prevalent and life-altering, groups have been formed to help people break free of them. Luckily for me, a group has not yet been created to ‘cure’ me of my addiction. Thank God!

As anyone who has spent any amount of time with me can tell you, I am a book addict. Well, book addict may not be a broad enough description. I will literally read anything my eyes fall upon. Books, newspapers, magazines, brochures at a register, fortune cookies, cereal boxes…yes, I said cereal boxes. I do not discriminate. If it contain words, my eyes are immediately drawn to it. If it sucks me in, I won’t put it down until it is finished. That definitely creates a problem when I have to be up at 5:30 and I don’t finish the book until 1:00 am. Or 2:00. I took my highschool finals on two hours of sleep because I couldn’t put down the book I’d been reading at the time.

The genre does not matter, although I go through what I can best describe as genre phases, which I have referred to in another post. Fantasy, historical, horror, YA, suspense, crime, NA, Chick Lit, romance (smut books, my father likes to tease)…you name it, I read it. Anything to get my fix.

I scarf down words like it’s Thanksgiving and the food is about to magically disappear.

In the last three weeks, I have read nine books. That’s one book every 2.3 days. Average number of pages was 350-400 per book. Pretty scary considering I still worked, spent time with family, washed clothes and weeded my garden. And ate and slept. Well, I ate anyway. My eyes may be at half mast but at least I smell good…sniff…I think.

It probably doesn’t help that my craving to read can be appeased in so many different ways. I used to carry an over-sized purse or a backpack so I could stash multiple books within its depths. With the invention of e-readers, I can now read anything, anywhere. My laptop, kindle and even my phone have access to all my ebooks. As soon as I complete one, I can open another. I am no longer limited by the size of the bag I carry. I don’t even have to leave the house to visit my dealer local book store.

I still do visit the book stores, though. Problem is, the closest decent book store is an hour away. It’s like making a pilgrimage to Mecca. Standing in the middle of a book store, listening to the hushed voices and whisper of turning pages, the smell of paper and binding teasing my nose, is like nirvana to me. With the price of gas these days, it’s not a trip I make often, so it is all the more precious.

When I was a teenager, I discovered that writing words was just as fulfilling as reading them. While it is not as instantly gratifying, I find satisfaction in arranging words and sentences as I try to find a way to release the images and the characters in my head. Scenes play like movies in my brain as I desperately try to type fast enough to keep up.

Just another fix in my life long addiction to words. Words are like air. Without them, I cannot breathe.

Hello. My name is Cassie, and I am a word addict.

Wait, this group hasn’t been created yet. Has it?

This entry was posted in Spouting Off and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Confessions of a Word Junkie

  1. philip says:

    I love your headline and your writing style.Gonna keep my eye on you and take lessons

  2. I’m a big reader, too! Maybe not as big as you, but close! I love my e-reader, I got it last year as a BD gift (well, I got a nice gift card that I turned around and bought a refurb Kindle with… so it still counts) and I’ve learned how to check out books from the library on it and how to borrow free from Kindle (which makes my Prime membership so worth it!!). I will download a dozen free books at a time and read them every chance I get! I love it!! And I’ve passed my love of reading onto my son, which pleases me tremendously!

  3. rastelly says:

    People like you are my bread and butter – finally – someone with a kindle.
    Tell me if you ever fell like giving Enthralled: Pawn of the Necromancers a try –
    Or better yet write for mind wings yourself – they are readily accepting short
    submissions of under 11,000 words. It’s a great way to put your name out
    there. These short stores can really catch the attention of readers who are
    strapped for time, but please – rest your eyes once in awhile.

  4. I’ll join your group too. Hello, my name is Renee….

Leave a Reply

